Second National Economists’ Conference-2079 Successfully Completed

NECS Nepal successfully organized Second National Economists’ Conference in Kathmandu, Nepal in March 10-11, 2023. The president of the organization Ganga Bahadur Thapa chaired the opening ceremony of the conference.

On behalf of the organization, Dr. Jeeban Amgain presented his paper on “Current economic scenario and transformation issues in Nepalese economy”. Prof. Dr. Shiva Raj Adhikari, Head of Central Department of Economics, Tribhuvan University, put his remarks on it. Bhim Prasad Pant, General Secretary of the organization, gave a congratulatory speech on behalf of the organization. The Former Chief Secretary Leela Mani Paudyal highlighted the purpose of the conference and justification of the program. And at last Dipendra Bahadur Chhetri reviewed the first opening session of the conference as a whole.

Other distinguished key note speakers were honorable Gagan Thapa, Mahamantri of Nepali Congress Party; Dr. Bijaya Paudel, Leader of CPN-US; honorable Ram Kumar Phuyal, Member of National Planning Commission; Maha Prasad Adhikari, Governer of Nepal Rastra Bank; Shiva Lal Bhusal, VC of TU; Min Raj Kandel Chairman of National Cooperative Federation of Nepal and Krishna Acharya, chairman of IPPAN and representative of private organizations. And the end of the first day ceremony Dipendra Bahadur Chhetri, advisor of NECS Nepal put vote of thanks.

In the second session (Technical Session) of the conference, there were sixteen different thematic papers. Session Chair, Presenter and Discussant were as follows.

Session 1

Title: Chain management in vegetable supply: Durga Thapa

Session Chair: Prof. Dr. Arjun Baral

Discussant: Dr. Raghu Bir Bista

Session 2

Title: Integrated Agroforestry System and Ecological Park: Rajaram Thapa

Session Chair: Prof. Dr. Arjun Baral

Discussant:  Bal Krishna Sharma

Discussant:  Dr. Uttam Khanal

Session 3

Title: Possible bases of import substitution: Dr. Bimala Dahal

Session Chair: Prof. Dr. Arjun Baral

Discussant:  Baikuntha Pandey

Session 4

Title: Basics of development of domestic and small industries: Shobha Gurung

Session Chair: Lilamani Paudel

Discussant: Dr. Gyanendra Prasad Paudel

Discussant:  Dr. Niranjan Devkota

Session 5

Title: Utilization of local technology to strengthen industrialization: Durga Bahadur Oli

Session Chair: Dr. Homanath Chalise

Discussant :  Dr. Laxman Neupane

Session 6

Title: Domestic Production and Market Potential of Nepal: Burning Questions of Import Substitution: Dr. Uttam Khanal

Session Chair: Dr. Homanath Chalise

Discussant :  Dr. Laxman Neupane

Session 7

Title: Establishment of enterprise development and importation: Dr. Laxman Nuepane

Session Chair: Dr. Ram Prasad Ghimire

Discussant:  Dr. Surendra Upreti

Session 8

Title: Implementation status of the Sustainable Development Goals: Dr. Narayan Raj Paudel

Session Chair: Dr. Ram Kumar Phuyal

Discussant:  Prof. Dr. Madhav Prasad Dahal

Discussant: Prof. Dr. Pushpa Raj Kandel

Session 9

Title: Hydropower for Economic Prosperity, Job Creation and Independent Economy: Prakash Dulal

Session Chair: Dr. Homanath Chalise

Discussant: Pramod Rijal

Discussant: Bhim Prasad Gautam

Session 10

Title: Development of Nepalese land potential and agricultural structure: Sudip Shrestha

Session Chair: Dipendra Bahadur Chhetri

Discussant: Dr. Raghu Bir Bista

Session 11

Title: Current economic conditions and suggestions for revival of the economy: Deepak Raj Joshi

Session Chair: Dr. Jeeban Amgain

Discussant: Prof. Dr. Shambhu Kattel

Session 12

Title: Co-operative mobilization in the national economy: Min Rraj Kandel

Session Chair: Dr. Raghu Bir Bista

Discussant: Dr. Gyanendra Prasad Paudel

Discussant: Durga Bahadur Oli

Session 13

Title: Nepal’s economic and diplomatic relations with India and China: Jagannath Kafle

Session Chair: Dr. Chandrakant Paudel

Discussant: Sudip Shrestha

Discussant: Prof. Dr. Madhav Dahal

Session 14

Title: Social solidarity economy for revitalization of the economy: Paritosh Poudyal

Session Chair: Dipendra Bahadur Chhetri

Discussant: Dr. Ramesh Ananda Vaidya

Session 15

Title: The impact of information technology development on the economy: Dr. Sunil Pokharel and CK Khanal

Session Chair: Dr. Ramesh Ananda Vaidya

Discussant: Dr. Chandramani Adhikari

Session 16

Title: The problems of the present banking system and the foundations of productive investment : Nar Bahadur Thapa

Session Chair: Dr. Neelam Dhungana Timsina.

Discussant : Dr. Prakash Shrestha

Discussant: Keshav Acharya